Versus: US schools (college level) vs. Korean schools (again, college level) Part 1 of 2…

YonseiSign

This is my first post since having returned to my home in the US. I still have a lot to say about my time abroad though. I have been back at home in Tampa, Florida for two weeks now, and at least five times a day I sit in front of my computer wondering why I have not written on my blog. It is not that I don’t have the time. I HAVE TONS OF TIME! Topics? I have those too. In fact, in additions to today’s post that I am finally spinning out of my “wandering web” I would also like to write about:

– Another “Versus” about Technology: US vs. Korea

– Fast Food in Seoul, Korea

So… why not write? It is purely psychological. I have to give credit to my friend R. Petro who pointed out social media: ” Caution to me amigos who have just come back from being abroad: Do NOT look at any photos from your time abroad. It’s too soon. ”  Speaking for myself. I am really happy to be home, to be around my “creature comforts.” I have family and friends that love me and that I am so happy to hold in my arms again. On the other hand, I was constantly fed and stimulated by the people of Seoul in ways that I have not tapped into at home. To be writing a blog post is extremely uncomfortable, because with every word, picture, or video I am reminded that I am not where I was challenged the most, and where I was growing in a way that I have not in a very long time. I miss that. I am eager to return to it. So, my plan is this: finish up my last semester at USF (Tampa, Florida, USA) and evaluate if South Korea is where this body needs to be. In the mean time, I can look at photos and write these blog posts. It may be a little “reverse” culture shock…but its part of the cost of “doing business” when you travel abroad and return home. So… on with today’s post, my comparison between Schools here in the USA in contrast to my experience at Yonsei University in Seoul, South Korea!

Both schools are beautiful, as I hope most universities are. Both have very competitive sports teams. As I would never call myself an athlete nor pretend to follow any sports, I’ll politely avoid these to variables in my comparison.

As I prattle on and on take a walk with me. I’ll share with you some picture of Yonsei’s campus in the Fall and Winter taken between September and December of 2012. If you think this gives Yonsei a “homefield advantage,” then you may be surprised…

IMG_0413

Where to begin? Well, Let’s do this the “Korean” way and start big and go small…

School Status

We have a little bit of this in America, but not anywhere to the degree that it happens in Korea. What am I talking about? Where you went to school holds a certain sway over what companies will or will NOT hire you. If you went to one of the big three schools (SKY – Seoul National, Korea Univ, or Yonsei Univ) you have a better chance of being hired if the people you are working with (or for) also went to that school you attended. Some view this as an indication of how well you fit in. The closest thing we have to that here in America is if you went to Harvard or Yale, then if the people that you would be working with also went to that school, THEN it could be looked as “favorable” as you being a good “fit for the company.” In my experience in the workforce here in US, we simply do not put that much stock into where one went to school. For us here in the states, its more about the individual merit and abilities.

yonsei.2

Respect for Teachers

I will not go on and on about this. I will say this though, according to Confucius ideology as described in an article titled “Advertisements in Korea” by Young-A Cho and Douglas Ling, “a teacher [is] the epitome of an upright citizen, representing the virtues of learning and concern for the overall welfare of other members of society.”    I would suggest that we have a ways to go in this country (USA) as to how we treat our teachers. Teachers are NOT glorified babysitters, nor is it the teacher’s job to raise children. I know no one wants to hear a soap-box rant…but maybe we can at least give teachers an appreciation day. Korea celebrates May 14th as their Teacher Appreciation Day. … Let’s show our educators some love, shall we?

Corporate Support for Institutions

Corporations in Korea are extremely active in supporting institutions of higher learning.  Take for example, Yonsei’s Central Library. Libr.front

It is huge! Multi-level basement! 6-above ground floors! Numerous wings, including an art museum, touch-screen-displays all over the place!  Inter-active computer walls, etc. etc. etc. See below a video I put together showing off just some of its goodies. The corporation you can thank for this: Samsung. Thank you Samsung. I am not saying that corporations here in the US don’t care about academics…I just don’t see it on my campus at USF. I would love for that to change. Please see the video below for a limited tour of the Central Library @ Yonsei University. The library at my home university is a pale shade compared to this academic mecca! Perhaps this is less than charitable of me, but I do feel if a corporation would support education as strong as it is in Korea, that we would see logos of the company ALL OVER THE PLACE! In Korea, they take a different approach. Most people there feel it is everyone’s duty to care for one another. In this way, companies are less likely to compete for attention, and are more likely to share support to all the people, not just its consumers.

This is part 1 of 2. You can find part 2 here: link.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Versus: US schools (college level) vs. Korean schools (again, college level) Part 2 of 2… | wanderingwebb
  2. Jamaica
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 07:37:49

    Hi I am wondering how many units/courses did you study at Yonsei to equivalent a full time load?

    Reply

Leave a comment